SX Blog


David Scott receives Distinguished Editor prize

5 January 2017

Please join us in congratulating David Scott whose editing of Small Axe: A Caribbean Journal of Criticism has been recognized by the Council of Editors of Learned Journals as the winner of its Distinguished Editor prize. There will be an award ceremony at the upcoming Modern Language Association convention in Philadelphia this week. You can read more about the prize here

Praise for Small Axe:

“The journal distills the finest of Caribbean intellectualism, so that it may be related to predecessors such as Tropiques or Bim, but it surpasses them too, not just in longevity, but in setting and observing new currents in Caribbean thought, literature, social studies, and visual art.” --Martin Munro, Florida State University 

“Small Axe edited and published under Scott’s vision has become one of most relevant intellectual and creative publications for our current political, social and cultural climate. Small Axe continues to reflect the ‘problem space’ of the contemporary global moment.” --Roshini Kempadoo, University of Westminster 

“It remains a moment of pure joy for me to receive and unwrap Small Axe editions that I have come to expect to be visual as well as visually theoretical feasts; to be anglophone, francophone, hispanophone, as well as thoroughly regional in orientation; and to be interdisciplinary.” --Faith Smith, Brandeis University  

“What Scott did since the 90s was to create an intellectual space that would absorb the Caribbean wherever it existed in pockets, drawing Caribbean thinkers, academics, intellectual workers or artists in the United States, Britain or Europe, linking these with scholars and practitioners who continued to live and work in the Caribbean region and thus cross fertilizing a dialogue that has been bountiful and unending.” --Patricia Mohammed, University of the West Indies, St. Augustine 

Program arranged by the Council of Editors of Learned Journals

Book Review Session Thursday, 5 January3:30–4:45 p.m., 110A, Pennsylvania Convention Center. Award Ceremony will begin at4:15pm